Lesson 1 of 0
In Progress

Burgundy Geography 101

The basics of Burgundy geography, ahead of zooming into specifics, can be broken down to five key sub-regions.

  • Chablis
  • Côte de Nuits
  • Côte de Beaune
  • Côte Chalonnaise
  • Mâcon

Each of the sub-regions has its own personality, style, and focus. Here are some general links to learn more about them. Don’t dwell too much on these links, for we’ll be covering each region and village in much more detail shortly. Use these links for a general overview and to learn basics on the geology.

Overview of the geology behind the making of Burgundy

A quick look at Chablis geology

Overview of the geology of the northern part of the Côte d’Or, known as the Côte de Nuits.

Overview of the southern part of the Côte d’Or, known as the Côte de Beaune.

Overview of the Côte Chalonnaise

Overview of the Mâcon